The Repeater: Gamers Speak

The RepeaterThe Repeater is a feature in which important discussions are highlighted and linked from other authors to help the information get around to as many eyes and ears as possible. Relevant to video games? Maybe. Relevant to gamers? Definitely. Let these be your food for thought. (Image Source: http://www.devcom.com/)


Everyone has spoken since that ghastly term “Gamergate” was first minted. For all it’s scandalous meaning, one thing about this month’s events is that it’s got everyone talking to each other. Players are discussing the issue of harassment, bigotry and ethics. I may not agree with everything that’s being said, but I can appreciate that it’s on everyone’s lips, which means people are being forced to think about this. That’s a total win.

As the repeater is about just being an echo, I present you with bits from the conversation developers are having with their gamers.

Devs Speak

Mostly, devs have just been commenting in the already on-going conversations of various threads. So when you visit these articles, read the comments sections.

Gamers Speak

I didn’t mean to hold a mirror to anyone, but it happened anyway.

[..] And that’s what “social justice warriors”, aka people who give a shit, do: inadvertently or not, they hold a mirror to anyone that chooses lazy complacency. They remind others that there are injustices yet to be fought right under their nose. Defensiveness and aggression are a typical reaction to feeling blame or guilt. Mocking those that care more than you do is a fine diversionary tactic. – Syl

A great discussion was going over at MMO Gypsy but spammers made it impossible and Syl had to shut it down just when it was getting interesting. Thanks spam bots. We love you. Still well worth a read of Syl’s post and the entire conversation that followed.

It’s never too late to discuss this sensitive subject. I think the past week has cooled the flames a bit. I’ve refrained from chiming in on this whole fiasco, mostly because I’ve said enough. It’s pretty well known what I think of things like this and I have nothing new to add.

I spend a lot of time on XP Chronicles discussing men’s issues. That can feel like a laser beam, even for me. My whole goal in setting out on this project was to focus more on those issues and to give myself a space to freely express what I’m thinking and feeling. TR Red Skies wasn’t the place for that. I think this experience has helped me grow. A lot. And it’s been good. As bad  as some events have been lately, it’s nice to see the issues acknowledged and discussed.

Join the fray, speak your mind, and follow on Twitter @trredskies!

