For the Love

As my family and I continue this month of Valentine’s festivities (it lasts a month in our household) and as we continue to honor Black Americans in February, I thought it appropriate to combine those things into a single article. And in doing so it seemed more appropriate still to focus on the First Family. For 6 years they’ve been showing us what love really looks like. The White House never looked warmer in my lifetime. Happy Valentine’s Day, America and everyone around the world. I hope that despite our often thorny international politics that you accept the most crucial political contribution our First Family can give to you: Love.

What do I see in these images? Probably what I like to see, but I think it’s there: Love, trust, compassion, fatherly love and motherly love, romance, passion, mutuality, solidarity, beauty, comfort. Equals.

Scree Tags: #valentines #reallove #presidentobama

Join the fray, speak your mind, and follow on Twitter @trredskies!

